Delaware Salesperson Pre-Licensing DE Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Delaware

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Delaware is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Delaware Pre-Licensing »

How long does it take to get a Delaware real estate license?

The amount of time to get your Delaware real estate license is dependent on a number of factors, though most complete the requirements within a few months. There are a number of steps to complete which include education, application, exam, fingerprints, background investigation, and sponsorship by an actively licensed Delaware real estate broker.

How do I renew my Delaware real estate license?

Prior to the renewal date one must complete the applicable Continuing Education requirements and pay the renewal fee. Continuing Education requirements differ for first time renewal, or Post-Licensing requirements.

How much does it cost to get a Delaware real estate license?

The fixed costs involved in obtaining a Delaware Salesperson real estate license include the following:

  • $25 Guaranty Fund fee payable to the State of Delaware
  • $69 examination fee
  • $131 application fee

Varied costs include the tuition and fees associated with the required Pre-Licensing courses.

Note: These costs are subject to be changed by the state at any time.

What are the Delaware requirements for Post-Licensing and Continuing Education?

Each real estate licensee must complete 12 hours of real estate Post-Licensing approved by the Delaware Real Estate Commission within the first year of licensure.

Each real estate licensee must complete a minimum of 21 hours of real estate Continuing Education approved by the Delaware Real Estate Commission every even-numbered year by 4/30.

I am already licensed in another state. What do I need to do to get my license in Delaware as well?

The CE Shop has an approved online course for those who already have a license in another state. The 33-Hour Salesperson Pre-Licensing Real Estate Law Course is approved by the Delaware Real Estate Commission. Before taking this course, licensees should reach out to the Delaware Real Estate Commission to confirm this course is all that is required to become licensed in Delaware.

Can a felon get a Delaware real estate license?

Being convicted of a crime might impact your ability to become licensed. Applicants who have criminal conviction records or pending criminal charges must submit this information to the commission so that they can determine whether the conviction or charge is substantially related to the applicant’s area of practice. Contact the Delaware Real Estate Commission for more information on criminal convictions.

Can I get a Delaware real estate license online?

Delaware allows a future salesperson to earn their real estate license online.

How old do you have to be to get your Delaware real estate license?

You must be 18 years old or older to attain a Delaware real estate license.

Where do I take the Delaware real estate license exam?

Examinations are administered throughout the state of Delaware at Pearson Vue testing centers. Pearson Vue has more information about times and locations to take the Delaware real estate exam.

What courses are required for a Delaware real estate license?

The state of Delaware requires all persons looking to attain a real estate license to complete 99 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.

What is the average salary for a Delaware real estate salesperson?

On average, a full-time real estate salesperson in Delaware can expect to make about $50-90k per year, according to ZipRecruiter.com. Among higher earners, a Delaware real estate salesperson can earn over six figures annually. Multiple factors are taken into account when calculating average real estate salaries, including the number of real estate transactions per year and commission fees.

Do you need to have a diploma or GED to get your Delaware real estate license?

To attain your real estate license in Delaware, the Delaware Real Estate Commission will require proof of the successful completion of high school or its equivalent. This includes a high school diploma or GED.

Does Delaware have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?

Delaware offers real estate license reciprocity with all states under certain educational requirements. If the agent seeking reciprocity has done any of the following, they are eligible to apply:

1. Completed over 99 hrs. of Pre-Licensing education in a different state
2. Taken the Delaware Law Pre-Licensing course
3. Been licensed for over three years with an existing Sales or Lease Transaction Listing form that shows 20+ transactions

Agents should learn as much as they can about reciprocity to streamline the application process. Personalized questions related to reciprocity can also be directed to the Delaware Real Estate Commission.

Ready to get started?

Check out our course and package options.

Shop Delaware Licensing Courses Now »

Start a free trial today.

Sign up for a free 5-day trial, no credit card required.

Start your Delaware Free Trial Now »

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »